
Most people running a swim school got there by being good at teaching swimming. The business around the lessons is a different job: supervision ratios you have to defend, a child-safety scheme that changes at every border, an award wage, and a term cycle that decides whether the year is profitable.
None of it is complicated. It is just badly documented, because almost everything written about how to run a swim school is written for somewhere else. American certifying bodies, British quality marks, a calendar with the summer peak in the wrong half of the year.
Running one well is a set of decisions made once and then systematised: children per teacher, who is allowed on deck, how terms are structured, how families re-enrol, and what a class must cost to be worth teaching. Ten steps, in the order they bite.
Key Takeaways
- Supervision ratios are guidance, not law, and that is exactly why they matter. The Royal Life Saving ladder is the benchmark a regulator or insurer measures you against, so departing from it without a documented reason is where the exposure sits.
- The Working With Children Check is eight schemes, not one. Minimum age, fee and validity all change at the border, and Queensland does not recognise any other state’s check.
- AUSTSWIM and Swim Australia Teacher run against the same national skill set. Neither is more official, so choose on cost, renewal terms and what your venue or insurer already lists.
- Your term structure is a revenue decision disguised as a calendar. Term billing asks families to re-decide every ten weeks, during school holidays, when they are least likely to answer.
- Re-enrolment is a sequence, not a reminder email. Priority window for current families, then the waitlist, then the public, every term.
- Class size, the award rate and your lesson price are one calculation, not three. An estimate that ignores the ratio cap or the wage line is fiction.
Step 1: Set Your Supervision Ratios Before You Set Your Class Sizes
Australia has a published teacher to pupil ratio ladder for learn-to-swim, and almost nothing written about running a swim school mentions it. It is not law, which is why most operators have never looked it up. It is also the first thing a lawyer will.
The ladder sits in the Royal Life Saving Society Australia guidelines for commercial learn-to-swim and school pools, and moves with ability level and venue.
| Class level | What it means | Maximum in a pool | Maximum in open water |
| Beginners | Little or no experience, taught in shallow water | 1:10 | 1:6 |
| Intermediate | Basic skills, swims 5 metres with a recognisable stroke | 1:12 | 1:10 |
| Advanced learn-to-swim | Swims 50 metres using two recognisable strokes plus one survival stroke in deep water | 1:15 | 1:12 |
| Preschool, 3 to 5 years | Water familiarisation with an in-water qualified teacher | 1:5 | Not specified |
| Participants with disability | Varies with the individual, independent observer on the poolside at all times | 1:6, reducing to 1:2 or 1:1 | Not specified |
| Under 12 months | Formal programs not recommended, informal water play only | 1:1 parent, guardian or carer | Not applicable |
Preschool classes carry conditions beyond the number: water at least 30 degrees Celsius, sessions ideally under 30 minutes, a teacher with the relevant AUSTSWIM extension program, and a current CPR certificate covering child techniques.
A staffing rule underneath the ratios rarely reaches a roster. Royal Life Saving says a second person capable of assisting in an emergency should be available alongside the teacher, holding first aid or CPR but not necessarily a lifeguard or teaching qualification. That is a second paid body on deck.

None of this is legislation. It is the benchmark the industry uses to judge whether an operator met their duty of care. After an incident the question is not which statute you breached, it is whether you followed the guidelines, and if not, why not. Departing without a documented, risk-based reason is the exposure.
The guideline addresses safety, not the ratios ideal for teaching effectiveness, and when conditions get harder it says add qualified teachers rather than shrink the class.
Your ratio is not a preference. It is the number you will be asked to justify, and it caps class size and revenue per teacher hour, which Step 10 prices against.
Step 2: Get the Right Working With Children Check for Every State You Operate In
There is no national Working With Children Check. There are eight schemes, eight fee structures, minimum ages from 14 to 18 plus one scheme with no minimum at all, and one state that will not accept anybody else’s.
| State or territory | What it is called | Minimum age | Cost for paid work | Valid for |
| NSW | Working With Children Check | 18 | $112 | 5 years, monitored |
| VIC | Working with Children Check | 18 | $139.20, effective 1 July 2026 | 5 years |
| QLD | Blue Card | No minimum age | Check the current fee schedule | 3 years |
| WA | Working with Children Check | 18 | $87 plus GST | 3 years |
| SA | Working with Children Check | 14 | $115.50 | 5 years |
| TAS | Registration to Work with Vulnerable People | Effectively 16 | Check the current fee schedule | 5 years |
| NT | Working with Children Clearance (Ochre Card) | 15 | $88 | 2 years |
| ACT | Working with Vulnerable People registration | 16 | $163 | 5 years |
Every fee above is the paid-worker rate; volunteer fees are lower or free. Fees and thresholds are current as at September 2026, and most schemes review them annually around July, so confirm against the issuing agency before you budget.
Queensland is the one to plan around. It recognises no other state or territory’s check, so a teacher moving from Sydney to the Gold Coast needs a fresh Blue Card whatever their NSW clearance says. An adverse finding travels everywhere under “banned in one, banned in all” arrangements, but a positive clearance does not travel back.
For hiring, four things follow:
- Your state’s check, not the teaching qualification, sets the minimum age you can put a teacher on deck. AUSTSWIM’s own minimum is 16, but NSW, Victoria and Western Australia all set their check at 18.
- In NSW, employers must verify the check online and keep records of everyone in child-related work. That is a duty, not a formality.
- In Victoria, a card marked V for volunteer cannot be used for paid work.
- ACT registration takes roughly four weeks to process, which matters against a term start date.
List every jurisdiction you employ in, hold each staff member’s scheme, fee and expiry in one place, and set the reminder early.
Step 3: Choose Which Teaching Qualification You Will Require
The honest answer to “AUSTSWIM or Swim Australia Teacher” is that both are issued against the same nationally recognised skill set, SISSS00132, by two registered training organisations. Neither is the official one, so choose on price, renewal terms and recognition.
| AUSTSWIM Teacher of Swimming and Water Safety | Swim Australia Teacher | |
| Course fee | $449, as listed September 2026 | $285 to $365 by venue and variant, check the current course calendar |
| Format | Two day workshop, 8 to 10 hours of eLearning, supervised workplace training | Blended online study plus a face to face practical workshop |
| Minimum age | 16 | Not published |
| Licence term | 3 years | 3 years |
| Renewal | Minimum 10 hours of professional development per cycle | 15 professional development points plus a skills and knowledge audit |
| Worth knowing | Fee includes $20 million of teacher public liability cover, valued at about $100 a year | Recognised by IFSTA and endorsed by Swimming Australia |
Then the trap that costs real money. Let a licence lapse by 36 months or more and renewal is off the table: the units underlying SISSS00132 were superseded on 12 December 2023, so a fully lapsed teacher sits the whole course again.
Step 1 said preschool classes need the appropriate extension: Teacher of Infant and Preschool Aquatics, for 6 months to 4 years, and Teacher of Aquatics, Access and Inclusion, which the disability ratio guidance points to. Both need the base AUSTSWIM licence first, and each contributes 10 hours toward its renewal.
Two separate clocks run alongside. CPR (HLTAID009) is current for 12 months, first aid (HLTAID011) for three years.
Check what your venue contract or insurer names first. Inner West Council in NSW lists instructors as AUSTSWIM or Swim Australia qualified, treating the two as interchangeable.
A qualified teacher with a current check is the individual layer of child safety. The organisational layer is next, and most schools have nothing written down.
Step 4: Put a Child Safe Framework Around the Checks
Collecting Working With Children Checks is screening. It is not a child safe organisation. In New South Wales and Victoria the difference is legislated, and in a swim school (adults in the water with other people’s children, change rooms, one-to-one instruction) the gap is not academic.
Three layers sit behind that difference:
- Nationally, 10 National Principles for Child Safe Organisations, written by the Australian Human Rights Commission after the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse. Each state decides whether to make them binding.
- Victoria has 11 Child Safe Standards, introduced in 2016 and updated in 2022 to align with the National Principles. Mandatory.
- NSW legislated its Child Safe Scheme statewide from 2022 under the Children’s Guardian Act 2019, and runs the country’s longest-standing Reportable Conduct Scheme. Victoria’s started in phases from 1 July 2017.
Applied to a swim school, you should be able to produce a written child safety and wellbeing policy, a code of conduct covering the specifics of a pool (photography, change rooms, physical support in the water, one-to-one contact), a reporting process with a named person, recruitment that goes past the check to reference calls, staff training, and records showing it happened.
That list is a reading of the National Principles applied to a swim school, not swim-industry guidance, so check your own state’s scheme for what is mandatory.
If you cannot hand a parent the policy, you do not have one.
Step 5: Build Your Term Calendar Around the Australian School Year
Almost every guide to running a swim school is written on a calendar where the summer peak falls in July. Here it falls over Christmas, so your busiest selling season lands in the six weeks your families are hardest to reach.
Term-based Australian swim schools commonly run a 10-week term tracking the four-term state school calendar, with the fee charged up front: Aqua Tots takes the full term fee in week one.
Then the arithmetic that decides the year, as the operator quoted in Step 6 frames it. A pool lease runs 52 weeks while a term-only school bills roughly 40 to 44 of them, leaving about 12 weeks of dead time that still costs rent.
Holiday intensives monetise that peak: daily lessons across four to ten consecutive days, priced and booked separately from term classes.
- KICK Swim, $180 per child for five 30 minute shared lessons, or $144 for a four-lesson week.
- AquaBuddies five-day programs at $150 group, $190 semi-private and $380 private per child.
- Inner West Council, $232.10 for five private sessions.
That converts dead weeks into billed weeks at a higher rate per lesson.
Term dates also vary between states and between public and private school calendars, so a term copied from one school’s calendar will be out of step with a chunk of your families.
The calendar sets the rhythm. The next decision is whether families re-decide every time it resets.
Step 6: Decide Between Term-Based and Perpetual Enrolment
Mitch Brown, who runs a regional swim school on the NSW and Victorian border, reports going from about 11% monthly churn on term billing at roughly 800 students to 5.2% monthly churn on rolling enrolment at nearly 2,000 enrolments across two sites. He also says his families stay close to 20 months against a typical 6 to 9. Those figures are self-reported in a podcast rather than audited, so read them as one operator’s experience, not an industry benchmark.
The models are simple. Term-based: families buy a fixed block, commonly 10 weeks, then re-enrol and re-select a time. Perpetual: enrolment continues on fortnightly direct debit until the family cancels, and the slot rolls over.
Perpetual already operates here at scale. Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre enrols all swim school students on a perpetual basis, billing fortnightly for two lessons. City of Parramatta’s PAC runs no term structure at all: year round classes including school holidays, a 12-week minimum commitment and two weeks written notice to cease.
Perpetual removes the decision point, and Brown’s diagnosis is that he made it easier to stay a customer than to leave. Against it: no built-in rest break for staff, a program that can feel static without a changeover point, intensives that are harder to run as a clean break, and the question of billing across public holidays. Term billing buys a clean start and end, and a natural moment to reshuffle instructors and times.
If you switch, the cash-flow trap has a fix: keep taking the same term-value payment up front through the transition, then convert to ongoing billing after the usual 9 to 10 weeks rather than asking for a lump sum.
Count the families you lose in the two weeks around a rollover, then ask whether you lost them to a competitor or to the paperwork. That answer is the decision.

Step 7: Write a Make-Up Lesson Policy You Can Actually Enforce
The make-up lesson is the most negotiated thing at a swim school front desk, and most schools have no written position. Two Australian operators sit at opposite ends.
City of Parramatta’s PAC offers no make-up classes and asks families to keep sick children home. Aqua Tots runs a structured, app-managed system: booked five days ahead, two hours notice for an absence, none in the first two weeks of term, and all used within the term with no roll-overs.
No make-ups buys simplicity and full capacity. Managed make-ups buy goodwill and cost you capacity.
That cost is the part nobody connects. A make-up child occupies a place in a class already capped by the ratio ladder in Step 1, so a policy without a capacity rule is a ratio breach waiting to happen on your busiest weeks.
If you offer them, tighten the window. Brown’s practice is that make-ups be used within seven days, and that a planned absence be covered beforehand rather than banked for after.
Either way, it only holds if it reaches parents the same way every time, which makes it a communication problem first.
The policy matters less than the fact that it is written down and applied the same way to everyone.
Step 8: Run Re-enrolment as a System, Not a Scramble
If you run terms, re-enrolment is the most valuable fortnight of your quarter, and in most schools whoever is on the desk runs it. It should run the same way every term.
- Open the window in the last two to three weeks of term, weeks 8 to 10, the common pattern across Australian enrolment pages.
- Give current families priority access to their timeslot before anything opens publicly.
- Convert the waitlist into the places that did not roll over.
- Open what is left to new enquiries.
- Confirm in writing, and hold an unpaid slot only for a stated number of days.
That window falls near the school holidays, when families are least reachable. It is the structural flaw in term billing, the one Step 6 solves differently.
Families leave for four reasons, and each has a fix:
- Perceived lack of progress. Brown’s point is that families cancel believing they have seen no results when the child is five months into a six month progression, so report progress visibly.
- A changed class time or instructor at the rollover. People do not like change, so change less.
- Level progression stalling with no explanation.
- Graduation churn, where the family leaves the moment the child can swim. Industry commentary puts that drop-off around ages 6 to 7, so have something to move them into.
Nothing run from memory runs identically, and this sequence only works if it does. Automation is what makes a policy consistent: the same opening day, the same reminder point, the direct debit continuing without a renewal conversation. That consistency is what we build into ClubFit’s swim school software.
Write the sequence down as five dated tasks against the term calendar and hand it to the desk.
Step 9: Cost Your Teaching Roster Under the Award
What does a swim teacher cost? Most private swim schools sit under the Fitness Industry Award 2020 (MA000094), and from 1 July 2026 the adult minimum base rates are $25.74 an hour at Level 1, $26.44 at Level 2 and $27.97 at Level 3. Casual loading is 25%, so a casual Level 1 is $32.18 an hour.
The classifications are where operators get it wrong:
- Level 2 holds a teaching qualification (AUSTSWIM or Swim Australia Teacher) and delivers instruction without direct supervision. That is your standard qualified teacher.
- Level 3 requires either 700 hours of paid teaching under the award, or 500 hours plus 12 hours a year of recognised workshops with a third recognised qualification.
Those rates are not universal. Council-run centres often employ under their own enterprise agreements, and loadings differ: one Western Australian government schools context uses 20%, not 25%. Check the instrument covering your venue.
The award is a floor, not a market rate, and the market is tight. Swim Australia attributed a roughly 20% year on year rise in lesson waiting lists to the teacher shortage in 2021, described since as structural. Swimming Coach or Instructor left the Core Skills Occupation List in December 2024, closing the subclass 482 sponsorship route.
Back to Step 1: the second person on deck is a rostered, paid body, and that cost belongs in the class costing rather than overhead.
You now have both numbers that decide whether a class is worth running, and Step 10 puts them together.
Step 10: Price Your Lessons Against the Ratio Cap and the Wage Bill
The profitability projection sitting at the top of a search for Australian swim schools assumes six children in a class and no teacher wage. Fix both and it becomes usable.
What Australian lessons go for:
- Group lessons commonly $24 to $35 a session. Swim Experts in Minto, NSW charges $24 for Mini’s and $25 for Movers and Masters, and Aqua Tots $260 for a 10-week term, about $26 a lesson.
- Private lessons $47 to $125, with Swim Experts at $47 for a weekday preschool private and $67 standard. Semi-private sits around $55 to $73.
- Holiday intensives $150 to $380 for a five-day program.
Now reconcile those against your two constraints. The ratio ladder caps the class at 1:10 for beginners and 1:5 for preschool, so your revenue ceiling per teacher hour is fixed before you price anything. On the cost side the teacher is $26.44 an hour at Level 2 base, more as a casual, plus the second person on deck.
So the question is not the lesson price. It is gross margin per teacher hour at the class size the ratio allows, which is why preschool at 1:5 and beginners at 1:10 are different businesses.
In NSW the Active and Creative Kids Voucher gives eligible children two $50 vouchers a year toward lesson fees, changing what a family pays without changing what you charge. Eligibility runs through Family Tax Benefit Part A or B.
Utilisation is usually the real lever. Brown targets 88 to 92% as the sweet spot that still leaves room for bookings and make-ups, and roughly $20 of instructor wage per $100 of revenue. Both are his targets, not industry figures.
Your price is set by the ratio, the roster and your utilisation. Any two without the third is a guess.
FAQ
Are swimming schools profitable?
They can be, but profitability is set by utilisation and the ratio cap rather than by the headline lesson price. Class size is capped by the supervision guidelines and the teacher wage is set by the award, so your margin lives in how full the classes are. We have not quoted an industry margin figure because no verified Australian data exists.
What qualifications do you need to be a swim teacher?
Either the AUSTSWIM Teacher of Swimming and Water Safety or the Swim Australia Teacher. Both are issued against the same nationally recognised skill set, SISSS00132, by two registered training organisations, so neither is more official. You also need a current CPR statement of attainment and the Working With Children Check for your state. Both licences run three years.
How much does a swim teacher get paid in Australia?
Under the Fitness Industry Award 2020 (MA000094), a Level 2 qualified teacher’s adult base rate is $26.44 an hour from 1 July 2026, with a 25% casual loading on top. Level 3 is $27.97. Council-run centres often pay under a different enterprise agreement, and market rates frequently sit above the floor because of the teacher shortage.
Is a Working With Children Check from one state valid in another?
Not automatically, and Queensland does not accept another jurisdiction’s check at all. Each state and territory runs its own scheme with its own name, fee, minimum age and validity. Adverse findings are recognised nationally, but a positive clearance is not portable, so budget for a fresh application in each state.
What teacher to student ratio should a swim school use?
There is no single number. The Royal Life Saving ladder runs 1:10 for beginners in a pool, 1:12 intermediate and 1:15 advanced, with 1:5 for preschool water familiarisation and 1:6 down to 1:1 for participants with disability. Open water maximums are lower at every level. The ladder is advisory, but it is treated as the duty-of-care benchmark.
Should I run term-based or perpetual enrolment?
Both operate at scale in Australia. Term billing gives clean start and end points and an easy moment to reshuffle classes, while perpetual enrolment removes the re-enrolment decision and bills across the full lease year. One operator, Mitch Brown, reports his monthly churn roughly halving after switching, though that is his own figure rather than an industry benchmark.
What our customers are saying
We recently converted to Clubfit and love that the system gives us end to end control of our membership experience from a single platform, from billing to full member management. The Clubfit team are enthusiastic and easy to work with, always seeking feedback to continually develop the system.
Jindalee FitnessA six year search led us to Clubfit. The software is easy to use and has saved us six figures annually.
It has allowed us to take total control of our membership base; both from a billing and service standpoint. The software allows us to communicate with our members more effectively, leading to happier members and ultimately, better retention. The Clubfit team are extremely receptive to user feedback and are constantly fine tuning their product / tech. They were also able to effectively and accurately migrate 20+ years of past and present member data from our old software.
Clubfit has made a significant difference on the way we run our business.
The user friendly software has allowed us to save time and we have seen a remarkable increase in new member sign ups. We now only operate from one software instead of two…no more going back and forth!
The support Clubfit offers is the best we have ever dealt with and we are amazed with how quickly they respond. This is what companies should strive towards.
Get in touch
Book a free, personalised demo
See how Clubfit can empower your fitness business with its revolutionary approach to member management and guarantees to increase your revenue.
Request Demo
"*" indicates required fields


